For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

User Report Auto Classification

User Report Auto Classification automatically investigates and classifies user-reported messages to enable you to effectively field these critical detections.

You can choose to:

  • Manually classify and we'll make classification recommendations that you can accept, or

  • Take it a step further and enable auto classification to automatically accept classification recommendations and apply any response or remediation you pre-configured

How does auto-classification work?

Classification

When a user reports a suspicious email, we first check whether the email is coming from a trusted source - one of the strongest indicators of whether an email is malicious or not. From there, our machine learning model analyzes over 2,000 factors to classify it as either:

  • Malicious

  • Spam, or

  • Safe

If a determination can't be made with a high degree of confidence, the issue will be marked as Unknown then surfaced to your security team in User Reports > Issues to investigate and classify manually.

The issue details highlight the indicators used for classification. Hover over the indicators to see their descriptions:

If you are manually classifying, click Accept to apply the recommended classification and trigger any pre-configured remediation. If you have auto classification, the recommended classification is automatically applied.

From the issue details, you can also reject the classification if you don't feel it's correct. Choosing this option classifies the issue as None (then you can update that to a new classification when you're ready).

✨ Optionally, let us know why you're rejecting the classification category so we can continue to improve auto-triage. Note, we will be able to see your issue details only if you share feedback in the feedback field, not if you only reject the suggestion.

Response and Remediation

Once the issue is classified, any auto-remediation you set for that classification (see step 4 below) immediately takes place. As with every Material detection and automated remediation, you can always change the remediation of each issue as needed.

Report Acknowledgments

If you also enable auto triage:

  • If Reporter Acknowledgements are configured, your users will see slightly different copy on their acknowledgment indicating Material Security reviewed the message (when auto classification is responsible for the issue classification).

  • If the issue is auto classified, response for unreviewed messages is skipped

If Material already created an issue for the same message before one of your users reported it, a single issue is created with the user report added. Your users still receive any configured reporter acknowledgments. Learn more about issue grouping.

Want to learn more about how User Reporting auto triage is solving for sophisticated attacks that slip through automated filters? Check out two of our blog posts here and here.


Enable Auto Classification

Enable auto classification to automatically accept classification recommendations and apply any response or remediation you pre-configured immediately.

  1. Log in to Material.

  2. From the left navigation, expand User Reports, then click Settings.

  3. Scroll to User Report Agent, then select Automatically classify:

User Reports > Settings
  1. For each classification type, choose from the auto-remediation options described here.

Set auto-remediation

Disable Auto Classification

To disable, follow steps 1-3 above, but choose Manually classify.


FAQ

What if auto classification marks a malicious email as safe?

The auto classification's machine learning model is highly accurate, but sophisticated attacks — particularly those abusing trusted infrastructure like Microsoft or Google — can sometimes be misclassified as safe. If you believe a message was incorrectly classified, here's what to do.

One: Reclassify the issue

From the issue details, update the classification to Malicious or Spam. Any remediation configured for that classification will trigger automatically.

Two: Notify users who already received a "safe" verdict

When Material classifies an issue, users who reported it receive an acknowledgment. If you reclassify the issue, those users are not automatically notified of the updated verdict.

From the issue detail, scroll to the reporter response section and check Also send to previous reporters before sending your updated response. This ensures users who may have acted on the original "safe" verdict — for example, clicked a link — are informed of the updated classification.

Three: Submit feedback to Material

To help our Threat Research team investigate and improve detections for your instance:

  1. From the issue, open the All Actions menu (⌘K or click All Actions in the top right).

  2. Click Share Feedback.

  3. Select Material did not catch this.

This sends the issue to our Threat Research team, who will investigate and may push updated detection rules to your instance to catch similar threats going forward.

See Share Feedback on Email Threats for more on sharing issues and feedback with Material.

Last updated

Was this helpful?