Settings Hierarchy
Settings Hierarchy
With Material, you can configure feature settings at the Global, Tenant, Group, or Account level for maximum flexibility. This allows you to implement protections and controls at your own pace and for just the users or teams that need them.
Hierarchy and Overrides
Material supports configuring settings at four levels. Each level is listed below from broadest to narrowest. By default, each level inherits the settings specified at a broader level.
Global
These settings apply to all accounts across all tenants within Material.
To configure Global settings, from the top bar, click Settings, then click Default Account Settings.
Tenant
These settings apply to all accounts within the specified tenant and override any Global settings.
To configure Tenant settings, from the top bar, click Settings, then click Default Account Settings. Use the dropdown at the top right of the page to select a tenant.
Group
These settings apply to all accounts within the specified group and override any Global or Tenant settings. Material leverages existing groups within your directory and/or identity provider. The currently supported group types are:
Google Group
Google OU
Microsoft Groups
Okta Groups
To configure Group settings, navigate to Groups, select a group, and click Edit Settings. You can also view which groups have existing settings overrides by using the Settings Override filter.
Account
These settings apply to a specific account and override any Global, Tenant, or Group settings.
To configure Account settings:
From the left navigation, expand Explorer then click Accounts.
Select an account.
Click All Actions.
From here you can perform the following actions:
Edit Settings
Edit Roles
Edit Delegates
Force Unlock Messages
Revoke user sessions
You can also view which accounts have existing settings overrides here by using the Overrides filter.
Conflicting Settings
When two settings of the same level conflict, Material defaults to the most secure setting. For feature settings, this means enabling a feature is picked over disabling a feature. For advanced settings such as Grace Periods, Material picks the stricter option (e.g. shorter grace period).
For example, the following table shows the resulting settings for an account that is part of two groups (Group A and Group B) which have conflicting settings.
Mailbox Syncing
On
On
On
Sensitive Email Redaction
On
Off
On
Default Locking Grace Period
1 Year
6 months
6 months
Password Reset & App Signup Protection
Off
On
On
FAQs
How would I disable Global settings so they do not apply to a new tenant I am about to enroll?
Disable Global Settings
For each existing tenant:
Navigate to the Global Default Account Settings and then use the dropdown at the top right of the page to select the tenant.
Select Override for each setting you plan to disable Globally.
After reviewing each tenants' settings, you can begin to disable the various Global Default Account Settings you don't wish to apply.
For most Material deployments, the only Global setting enabled is Account Connection.
What's the best way to opt some users out of Material?
Opting accounts out
If the set of users is fixed (e.g. it’s a handful of 3-4 people), the best option is to set all features to disabled at the Account level. If the set of users will change over time, we suggest creating a group of these users, disabling all features for that group, and leveraging tenant level settings for other users.
Last updated
Was this helpful?

